In 2005, the University celebrated the inauguration of the first 8 Endowed Professorships,
a milestone in the University's history.
To date, a total of 95 Endowed Professorships have been established.
Back
Kingboard Chemical Holdings Limited

Kingboard Professorship in Materials Engineering

"It is always new materials that open the door to new technologies. Kingboard whole-heartedly supports this Endowed Professorship in Materials Engineering and HKU’s mission in being the vanguard in technological advancement. "

Kingboard Chemical Holdings Limited

Alfonso H W Ngan

Alfonso H W Ngan

Appointed in 2011

The Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in 1958, and has since enjoyed a steady growth in staff and student numbers and a burgeoning reputation for excellence. It has continuously developed over the years and has diversified its academic courses, departmental facilities and research. The department provides high-quality and widely recognised programmes and is staffed by professionals who have graduated from world-renowned establishments and who are firmly dedicated in their teaching and highly active in their respective research fields.

Professor Alfonso Ngan studied at the University. In an outstanding academic career, he graduated in 1989 with First Class Honours and won the Williamson Prize, awarded to the best student in the Engineering Faculty. He then obtained a scholarship to study for his PhD in Materials Science at Birmingham University, taking only two years and nine months to complete his thesis, which won the university’s Thomas Turner Research Prize for the best thesis in Materials and Metallurgy. After spending a year at Oxford as a Research Fellow, he joined HKU as a Lecturer in Materials Technology and Solid Mechanics in 1993. He was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2003, and Professor in 2006.

Professor Ngan’s research interests include the microstructural basis of mechanical properties in metallic minerals, electron microscopy for materials engineering, and crystalline defects and their modelling. His work is focused on the mechanical properties of micron and submicron sized material volumes, nanomechanics and nanoindentation, and nano-biomechanics.

He is an elected Fellow of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IMMM) in the UK; a concurrent Professor of Nanjing University and a Visiting Professor of the Central Iron and Steel Research Institute in Beijing.

Professor Ngan has published 120 journal papers, with 1,300 citations, and is ranked internationally in the Essential Science Indicators as being among the top 0.5 percent of Materials Science researchers. He has also co-authored a textbook and has gained one US patent.

In addition to his earlier prizes, he won the Outstanding Young Researcher Award at HKU in 2001, and the Outstanding Researcher Award in 2007. In the same year he was also recognised with the Rosehain Medal and Prize by the IMMM, and, in 2008, was conferred a higher doctorate (DSc) by the University of Birmingham.

Among his many services to HKU, Professor Ngan is Chairman and Head of the University’s Electron Microscope Unit, and Convenor of the University’s Strategic Theme on Nano-biotechnology. He has received invitations to present plenary and keynote papers at numerous international conferences, and has been involved in organising prestigious international events in Hong Kong and the USA.

二零零五年,港大首次慶祝八位明德教授就職,為大學的歷史奠定重要的里程碑。
時至今日,已成立共一百零八項明德教授席。
返回
建滔化工集團有限公司

建滔基金教授席 (物料工程)

研發新物料往往是開拓新技術的關鍵。設立物料工程教授席,是認同香港大學矢志成為創新科技先驅的使命。 

建滔化工集團有限公司

顏慶雲

顏慶雲

2011年就職

香港大學機械工程系自1958年創立以來,師生人數和外界口碑穩步而快速增長。本系多年來持續發展,專業課程、研究設施多元。本系開設的高質素教育項目,被社會廣泛認可。這些課程由畢業於世界聞名學術機構的專業人士執教,他們潛心教學工作,並在各自的研究領域表現活躍。

顏慶雲教授曾入讀香港大學。他擁有光輝的學術生涯:1989年一等榮譽畢業,並獲得威廉森獎,成為工程學院最優秀的學生。隨後,他取得了在伯明翰大學攻讀材料科學博士的獎學金。他只花了兩年零九個月就完成論文,並榮獲托馬斯特納研究獎在材料與冶金學科的最佳論文獎。在牛津大學作訪問學者一年後,他於 1993年返回港大,擔任材料工藝學和固體力學的講師,2006年成為教授。

顏教授的研究方向包括金屬礦機械性能的微觀結構基礎、用於材料工程學研究的電子顯微鏡技術、晶體缺陷及其模型的建立。他的研究核心是微米和亞微米級材料的機械性能、納米力學、納米壓痕技術和納米生物力學。

顏教授被選為香港工程師學會資深會員,英國材料、礦石和採礦研究所資深會員,並任南京大學兼職教授、北京鋼鐵研究總院客座教授。

顏教授在各種期刊發表論文逾120篇,被引用超過1300次,在基本科學指數上,被列為排名前0.5%的材料科學學者。顏教授與人合著教科書一部,並獲得一項美國專利。

除了早期獲得的獎項,顏教授2001年獲得香港大學傑出青年研究學者及2007年傑出研究學者稱號。同年,英國材料、礦石和採礦研究所授予他羅森海因獎牌和獎金;2008年,伯明翰大學向他頒發高等博士學位(理學博士)。

顏教授在港大任多項職務,包括電子顯微鏡研究所所長兼系主任,大學策略性議題中納米生物技術會議召集人。他受邀於多場國際會議上發表全會或主題論文,並在香港及美國參與組織國際權威學術活動。