In 2005, the University celebrated the inauguration of the first 8 Endowed Professorships,
a milestone in the University's history.
To date, a total of 95 Endowed Professorships have been established.
Back
Dr Wilson K L Wong  & Mrs Amelia Wong

Wilson and Amelia Wong Professorship in Plant Biotechnology

"With combined interest in engineering and agriculture, we aspire to improve the use of technology in crop production with our support of this Endowed Professorship in Plant Biotechnology, which is essential to ensure the supply of food, fiber and fuel for a sustainable future. "

Dr Wilson K L Wong 
Mrs Amelia Wong

Chye Mee-Len

Chye Mee-Len

Appointed in 2011

The School of Biological Sciences (SBS) was formed in 2007 by merging three biological departments, namely, Botany, Ecology & Biodiversity and Zoology, within the Faculty of Science. Ground-breaking research in the richly diverse field of biological sciences at SBS has attracted global attention and received international recognition, while its staff and students have won many prestigious awards. The Wilson and Amelia Wong Professorship in Plant Biotechnology represents the inaugural Endowed Professorship to SBS.

Professor Chye Mee-Len is an expert on plant lipid metabolism whose work has made significant contributions to the field, and which has the potential to drive improvements in agriculture and phytoremediation - the process of using plants to remove pollutants from the environment. Her applied research has yielded three patents in the United States, two in mainland China and one in Taiwan.

The achievements of Professor Chye’s laboratory have been made largely through the characterization of a complete new family of six acyl-CoA-binding proteins (ACBPs) which transfer lipids in the model plant, Arabidopsis. Some ACBPs were found to have the ability to confer tolerance to freezing conditions, or oxidative, pathogen or heavy metal-related stress, through the manipulation of cellular lipids.

Professor Chye completed her PhD at the University of Melbourne and received postdoctoral training in plant molecular biology at the Rockefeller University (New York) and the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (Singapore). She joined HKU in 1993, and soon helped to raise the profile of the University and her specialism on the global stage. She was appointed as a Consultant in 1994 to the Biotechnology Research Centre of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, and as Country Representative for Hong Kong (1995-1997) by the International Society for Plant Molecular Biology. She has been an invited speaker at many international meetings including the Gordon Research Conference and is the current Chair of the Asian Symposium on Plant Lipids.

Professor Chye’s work has been supported by the Research Grants Council and the Plant & Agricultural Biotechnology Area of Excellence. She was the recipient of an Edward Clarence Dyason Universitas 21 Fellowship 2004/05, an Outstanding Researcher Award 2006/07 and a Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2007/08. Her research findings have been published in highly regarded Plant Sciences SCI journals.

An editor of Planta and a Review Editor of Frontiers in Plant Physiology, Professor Chye is also on the editorial boards of several other specialist journals. She has reviewed grant proposals for the National Science Foundation (USA) and refereed manuscripts for numerous SCI journals.

In the spirit of “knowledge transfer to the community”, Professor Chye has given courses on genetically-modified foods to public health inspectors, has taken part in public expos and presented talks to local schools. Professor Chye’s other services to The University of Hong Kong include being Associate Dean (Graduate School), a member on the University Research Committee and Chair of the Committee of Research and Conference Grants.

二零零五年,港大首次慶祝八位明德教授就職,為大學的歷史奠定重要的里程碑。
時至今日,已成立共一百一十六項明德教授席。
返回
黃乾利博士  , 黃辛烱僖女士

黃乾利辛烱僖基金教授席 (植物生物技術學)

融合對工程技術與農業生產的興趣,我們銳意設立植物生物技術學的教授席,藉此提升作業生產的技術,確保糧食、纖維、燃料的供應,締造可持續的未來。 

黃乾利博士 
黃辛烱僖女士

蔡美蓮

蔡美蓮

2011年就職

理學院旗下的生物科學學院2007年由植物學系、生態學及生物多樣性學系和動物學系三個生物分支學科合併而成。其多學科革新性的研究已引發全球矚目,獲得國際讚譽。學院師生艮屢獲許多權威獎項。用於植物生物技術學研究黃乾利辛烱僖基金教授席,代表了生物科學學院明德教授席的正式揭幕。

蔡美蓮教授是植物脂質代謝的專家,其利用植物消除環境中的污染物的研究,不僅在此領域有重大的貢獻,並有潛質推動農業和植物修復技術的發展。她的應用性研究獲得多項專利,其中有3項在美國,2項在中國,1項在台灣。

蔡教授實驗室的成就在很大程度上得益於分析酰基輔酶A結合蛋白的性質,這種酶可以在模式植物擬南芥中傳送脂質。在脂肪細胞的作用下,有些酰基輔酶A結合蛋白具有抗冷凍、氧化、病原體和重金屬環境的功能。

蔡教授在墨爾本大學獲得博士學位,隨後在紐約的洛克菲勒大學、新加坡分子與生物細胞研究院接受植物分子生物學博士後訓練。1993年,蔡教授加入香港大學,不久即扶助港大在生物學研究及其專業發展在全球範圍提升水準。1994年,她獲委任為中國農業科學院生物技術研究所顧問,1995-1997年,國際植物分子生物學學會委任她為香港地區代表。蔡教授曾應邀在高登研究會議等國際大會上發言,現任亞洲植物脂類研討會主席。

蔡教授的研究工作長期受到香港研究資助局和植物及農業生物科技卓越學術領域的支持。她是2004/05年度愛德華克拉倫斯戴森學者,2006/07年度港大傑出研究學者,及2007/08年度裘槎基金會高級研究成就獎得主。她的研究成果多次發表在業界著名的植物科學期刊上。

除了任《植物界》和《植物生理學前沿》評論編輯,蔡教授還是多家學術期刊的編委會成員。她曾為美國國家科學基金會評閱資金申請提案,並為許多學術刊物審讀稿件。

在「知識流向社區」精神的感召下,蔡教授為公眾健康開設關於檢查員轉基因食品的課程,這些講座的地點遍佈公共博覽會和當地的學校。蔡教授在香港大學的其他職務包括任研究生院副院長,大學研究事務委員會委員,和研究及會議資助委員會主席。