Convocation Newsletter, Summer 2019

Special Committee Co-Convenors Margaret Leung 梁高美懿 (BSocSc 1975) Jimmy Tang 鄧鉅明 Gabriel Leung 梁卓偉 (MD 2003) Members Percy Cheng 鄭淇德 Stephen Cheng 鄭永強 (MBBS 1984; MS 1993) Ko Wing-Man 高永文 (MBBS 1981) Shelley Lee 李麗娟 (BA 1971) Jennifer Liu 廖偉芬 Lo Chung-Mau 盧寵茂 (MBBS 1985; MS 1998) A Hundred Strong Collective support for new professorship The Dedication Ceremony for the Leong Che-Hung Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Leadership, on October 31, 2018. GIVING More than 120 donors from across disciplines and professions have given a total of HK$20 million in support of the Leong Che-Hung Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Leadership , which was created in honour of Dr the Hon Leong Che-Hung 梁智鴻 (MBBS 1962; Hon DSc 2006) in perpetuity. The Professorship will attract world scholars with top distinction in academic and community leadership to the campus. Through this Professorship, the University aspires to provide opportunities for teachers and students to interact with top scholars at the forefront of their respective disciplines, enhance its visibility in the international academic community, and foster invaluable links with leading institutions. An additional HK$2.6 million raised in donations will go towards the Leong Che-Hung Medical and Research Enrichment Scholarship , which will benefit medical students and research postgraduate students. 26 Summer 2019