In 2005, the University celebrated the inauguration of the first 8 Endowed Professorships,
a milestone in the University's history.
To date, a total of 108 Endowed Professorships have been established.
Back
Dr Edmund Sze-Wing Tse

Edmund and Peggy Tse Professorship in Mathematics

"Mathematics is a truly universal language. It is science, it is art, it is philosophy. The laws of mathematics explain, govern and can be further applied to improve our lives. I hope this inaugural Endowed Professorship at the Department of Mathematics will contribute to further research into, understanding of, and the creation of academic interest in such an elegant discipline. "

Dr Edmund Sze-Wing Tse (BA 1960)

Mok Ngai-Ming

Mok Ngai-Ming

Appointed in 2011

The Department of Mathematics is the oldest of its kind in Hong Kong and is held in high regard by its many graduates and postgraduates, who have benefitted greatly from an education that nurtures abilities in quantitative reasoning, logical and analytical thinking, conceptualization, and problem solving, among other skills. The department maintains strong links with the community, and has gained a firm reputation for its research work..

The Institute of Mathematical Research was established in 1999, with Professor Ngaiming Mok as Director – a position he maintains to the present day. Professor Mok is a specialist in Complex Differential Geometry, Several Complex Variables and Algebraic Geometry. His research interests cover a broad range of subject areas and he has published 80 research articles, including 10 in the flagship journals Annals of Mathematics and Inventiones Mathematicae. 

Among his celebrated achievements to date, Professor Mok has resolved several major mathematical problems. These include his resolution in 1988 of the Generalized Frankel Conjecture in Complex Differential Geometry on compact Kähler manifolds of nonnegative bisectional curvature by methods of the Ricci Flow and Algebraic Geometry; his solutions with Professor Hwang Jun-Muk at KIAS, Seoul in 1999 and 2004 of the Lazarsfeld Problem in Algebraic Geometry by the introduction of a new geometric theory on uniruled projective manifolds; and his recent solution in 2009 with Dr Ng Sui-Chung at HKU of a problem of Clozel-Ullmo’s in Arithmetic Dynamics on germs of measure-preserving maps on bounded symmetric domains. 

After high school in Hong Kong, Professor Mok studied at the University of Chicago and then at Yale University, obtaining his MA at Yale in 1978 and his PhD at Stanford University in 1980. He then worked at Princeton University and was Professor at Columbia University and at the Université de Paris (Orsay) before taking up a Chaired Professorship at The University of Hong Kong in 1994. He has also been Director of the Institute of Mathematical Research since 1999. 

Professor Mok was an Alfred Sloan Fellow in 1984, and he received the Presidential Young Investigator Award in Mathematics of the United States in 1985, the Croucher Senior Fellowship Award in Hong Kong in 1998 and the State Natural Science Award of China in 2007. Recently Professor Mok received the 2009 Bergman Prize of the American Mathematical Society, for which he was cited as having made fundamental contributions in Several Complex Variables, in particular in the geometry of K?hler and algebraic manifolds. 

Professor Mok has been entrusted with important duties in the international mathematical community. He has been serving on the Editorial Boards of Inventiones Mathematicae and Mathematische Annalen, as well as other mathematical journals in China and in France. He served as a core member of the subject panel of Algebraic and Complex Geometry at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in Madrid 2006, and was a member of the Fields Medal Committee for ICM 2010. Professor Mok was an invited speaker at ICM 1994 in Zurich and has given numerous plenary lectures in mathematical conferences of a wide range of subject areas around the world.

二零零五年,港大首次慶祝八位明德教授就職,為大學的歷史奠定重要的里程碑。
時至今日,已成立共一百一十九項明德教授席。
返回
謝仕榮博士

謝仕榮衛碧堅基金教授席 (數學)

數學是世界共通語言──是科學,是藝術,也是哲學。數學原理可闡釋、管理,甚至可進一步用於改善生活。我期望數學系教授席,能在這高雅的學術範疇,更深入的研究、更透徹的剖析,營造更濃厚的學術氛圍。 

謝仕榮博士

莫毅明

莫毅明

2011年就職

香港大學數學系乃香港歷史最悠久的數學系,注重培養學生量化推理、邏輯思維、分析思維、概念化、解決問題等技能,並以其畢業生、研究生的出色表現享譽學界。

自1999年數學研究所創立後,莫毅明教授任所長至今。莫教授是複微分幾何、複變函數和代數幾何學專家。他的研究興趣廣泛,發表逾80篇研究論文,其中10篇刊登在《數學年鑒》《數學發明》等重要期刊內。

在莫教授取得的顯赫成就中,他曾解決過多個數學難題,包括1988年通過瑞奇流(Ricci Flow)和代數幾何的方法,攻破複微分幾何學廣義弗蘭克爾猜想(Generalized Frankel Conjecture),完全刻畫了具非負全純雙截曲率的緊複凱勒流形(compact Kähler manifolds);1999年和2004年,與首爾韓國高等研究院黃凖默 (Jun-Muk Hwang) 教授合作,通過引入射影流形的新幾何理論解決了代數幾何學中拉紮斯菲爾德問題 (Lazarsfeld Problem);他最新的成果是與香港大學吳瑞聰博士解決算術動力系統領域中Clozel-Ullmo所提出的一道難題,即解決了關於有界對稱域上保存體積元素的全純映照芽的刻畫問題。

在香港高中畢業後,莫教授到芝加哥大學深造,之後前往耶魯大學,並於1978年獲得文學碩士學位。1980年,他取得斯坦福大學博士學位。他隨後在普林斯頓大學任職,後又成為哥倫比亞大學、巴黎大學(奧賽Orsay)教授。1994年,莫教授獲得香港大學講座教授席位,並從1999年開始擔任港大數學研究所所長。

莫教授是1984年度艾爾弗雷德斯隆研究員 (Alfred Sloan Fellow);1985年,他獲得美國傑出青年科學家總統獎之數學獎;1998年,獲得香港裘搓資深研究員獎;並於2007年獲頒中國國家自然科學獎。最近,莫教授獲頒2009年美國數學學會伯格曼 (Bergman Prize) 獎,表彰其在多複變函數領域,特別是在凱勒幾何和代數流形的基礎性貢獻。

莫教授受委任參與國際數學界的重要事務。他是《數學發明》《德國數學年鑒》及其他多份中國和法國數學期刊的編委會委員。莫教授被委任為2006年在馬德里舉辦的國際數學家大會複幾何和代數幾何專家組的核心成員,並於2010年任該大會菲爾茲獎 (Fields Medal) 委員會委員。在1994年蘇黎世舉辦的國際數學家大會上,莫教授作應邀演講。他赴國際會議就多個數學領域發表專題演講的足跡遍佈全球。