In 2005, the University celebrated the inauguration of the first 8 Endowed Professorships,
a milestone in the University's history.
To date, a total of 108 Endowed Professorships have been established.
Back
Mr Patrick S C Poon

Patrick S C Poon Professorship in Statistics and Actuarial Science

"The establishment of this Endowed Professorship helps The University of Hong Kong secure its leadership position in the field of Statistics and Actuarial Science. May the fine tradition of teaching and research at the University be strengthened and generations of students be inspired. "

Mr Patrick S C Poon (BSc 1970)

Appointment to be announced

Appointment to be announced

Former Holder(s):

Ng Kai-Wang

Appointed in 2011

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science strives to be an international centre for excellence in research and education. The research awards won by its members include two Silver Guy Medals of the Royal Statistical Society, one Krumbein Award from the International Association for Mathematical Geology, one Chinese National Natural Science Awards (sole winner of Class II Award in mathematics) in 2000 when no Class I Award was given, two Chinese Education Ministry Natural Science Awards (Class II), two Croucher Foundation senior Research Fellow awards in Hong Kong, and at least one award in each of the five categories of HKU research award including the Distinguished Research Achievement Award.

Professor Ng is in his fourth term as head of the Department, and has played a key role in driving forward its development. Examples of his leadership include the establishment of problem-based courses in hands-on data analysis which entailed a large enrolment expansion in statistics, his proposal for a 70 percent expansion of the actuarial science programme, and his taking on of extra duties of consultative work as Acting Director of the Social Science Research Centre for 30 months, in order to earn extra funding for the Department. He has also ensured that the master’s degree in statistics has become a vital and sustainable supplementary funding source.

Professor Ng gained his PhD from the University of Toronto and joined HKU in 1979. In statistics and actuarial science he has published more than 80 articles in international journals and has co-authored six books in total, one of which has become a graduate textbook recommended by the Education Ministry in China, and other three are in world-renowned monograph series.

He has served on the editorial boards of international journals, including the leading publication in actuarial science, Insurance: Mathematics and Economics. Professor Ng has also been an office bearer at many international conferences. He is Co-Chairman of the organising committee for the 16th International Congress on Insurance: Mathematics and Economics, to be held in 2012 as part of the HKU centenary celebrations. He is also Vice-Chairman of the local organising committee for the 59th World Statistics Congress, to be held in the territory in 2013.

On numerous occasions, Professor Ng has given invited talks. Most recently he was a plenary speaker at a research workshop at the Fields Institute in Toronto. He was also a keynote speaker at the 14th International Congress on Insurance: Mathematics and Economics, in 2010. In celebration of the first World Statistics Day (WSD) of the United Nations, he was invited by the Hong Kong Statistical Society to deliver the WSD Academic Seminar on his discovery of the Converse of Bayes’ Theorem, which will be the topic of his next book project.

二零零五年,港大首次慶祝八位明德教授就職,為大學的歷史奠定重要的里程碑。
時至今日,已成立共一百一十九項明德教授席。
返回
潘燊昌博士

潘燊昌基金教授席 (統計及精算學)

願本教授席能幫助香港大學鞏固在統計及精算學的領導地位,並作出貢獻。 願大學傑出的教學與研究傳統得以發揚光大,未來莘莘學子得到啟發。 

潘燊昌博士

尹國聖

尹國聖

2019年就職

前任明德教授

吳啟宏

2011年就職

統計及精算學系致力於成為國際級的優質研究和教育中心。本學系成員獲得的外部獎項包括兩次英國皇家統計學會授予的「銀質蓋伊獎項」,一次國際數學地質協會授予的「克倫賓獎項」,2000年度在「中國國家自然科學獎一等獎」懸空的情況下成為(數學二等獎)唯一得獎項目,兩次「國家教育部自然科學獎(二等獎)」,兩次香港「裘槎基金會資深研究員獎」。並在香港大學內部的五項研究獎項中每項至少獲獎一次,包括最高的「卓越研究成就獎」等。

吳教授已担任四屆統計及精算學系系主任,對推動學系發展貢獻卓越。他成功領導的工作中,包括建立了以著手解決實際問題而展開的數據分析課程,使統計學收生人數大幅增長;爭取精算學專業擴招70%學生的建議;及為學系創收更多經費而額外擔任社會科學研究中心代理主任並擔任收費諮詢工作長達兩年半。吳教授還致力使統計學碩士課程項目成為重要而可持續的創收經費來源。

吳教授獲多倫多大學博士學位,從1979年起加入香港大學。在統計和精算學領域,他於國際級期刊發表逾80篇論文;總計合著過6部書籍,其中一部後來被中國教育部推薦為研究生教材,另有三部棣屬世界聞名的專著叢書。

吳教授任多家國際期刊的編委會副編輯,包括精算學界核心出版物《保險:數學與經濟學》。吳教授還是多個國際大會的組織者。他是第十六屆「保險:數學和經濟學國際大會」組委會的聯席主席,該大會將於2012年舉辦,並作為港大百年校慶的獻禮活動。他還擔任2013年將在香港舉辦的第59屆世界統計大會籌委會副主席。

吳教授應邀在眾多場合發表演講。最近,他出席在多倫多費爾茲研究所舉辦的研究工作坊,擔任主講嘉賓。他還是2010年第十四屆「保險:數學和經濟學國際大會」的主題演講嘉賓。在香港統計學會慶祝聯合國首辦世界統計日(WSD) 的學術專題報告會上,吳教授主講有關他如何發現貝葉斯定理之逆定理,其內容正是他下一部著作的主題。