The founding of The University of Hong Kong itself in 1911 was made possible through the generous donations of many individuals and corporations. Not long afterward, in 1919, the Taikoo Professorship of Engineering was established as the first named chair at the University. This initiated a legacy of excellence through the establishment of other professorships over the years.

Taikoo Professorship of Engineering

Norman C Tien

Sir Robert Ho Tung
Chair of Mechanical Engineering

Appointment to be Announced
SwireNorman C TienSir Robert Ho Tung

Sir Y K Pao Chair in Public Law

Appointment to be Announced

Redmond Chair of Civil Engineering

Appointment to be Announced
Sir Y K PaoRedmond Chair of Civil Engineering

Hui Wai Haan Chair of Chemistry

Appointment to be Announced

Sun Hung Kai Properties Professorship in Business

Michael J Enright
Hui Wai HaanSun Hung Kai PropertiesMichael J Enright

Sun Chieh Yeh Chair of Hepatobiliary Surgery

Appointment to be Announced
Sun Chieh Yeh